Brisbane Cycling Festival | Esports Nationals: 8 more riders book…

Esports Nationals: 8 more riders book finals spot

Another eight riders have booked their spots at the final of the 2024 AusCycling Esports National Championships.

The second qualifying race was held yesterday evening on the ‘Makuri 40’ route on Zwift, an hour-long effort of 40 kilometres, with two significant climbs.

In the women’s race, which attracted seven starters, Katelyn Nicholson jumped clear straight out of the start gate. The South Australian, who took a breakthrough NRS stage win last year, used her time trial prowess to great effect and steadily powered away from the bunch. Nicholson would never be seen again, eventually finishing nearly five minutes ahead of her nearest competitor.

Behind Nicholson, the bunch settled for fighting out the remaining three qualifying positions. They stayed together until the first major climb at 26km, when Peta Antonello upped the pace. Trudy Stevenson and Corinne Dolan were dropped from the pack, but continued fighting on the descent, managing to reconnect before the foot of the second – and longer – climb.

Again, it was Antonello who set a firm pace uphill, dropping Stevenson and Dolan again – this time, for good.

This left four riders – Antonello, Tilly Field, Emma Pratt and Melissa Baster – to fight for three qualification places on the uphill finish.

With 1km to go, Antonello struck out with a stinging attack, quickly getting a gap that she held to the finishing arch to secure the runner-up spot.

Behind, Pratt and Field lifted the tempo just enough to drop Baster within sight of the line. Field kicked ahead to take third place, putting her and Pratt safely through to the Brisbane final on March 22.

The men’s race saw Nick Spratt take the win solo ahead of Joshua Wilson. Just behind, Cameron Winfield and Mitchell Stewart sewed up the final qualification spots.

They will join the finalists from the first qualifier at the in-person final at The Cube, QUT in Brisbane on March 22. The championship event will consist of semi-finals and a final for men and women, and will be live-streamed on SBS On Demand from approximately 4:30PM AEST.

Qualified Riders


  1. Katelyn Nicholson (Port Adelaide CC)
  2. Peta Antonello (Footscray CC)
  3. Tilly Field (Club M.U.D Ballarat)
  4. Emma Pratt (Gold Coast CC)


  1. Nick Spratt (Penrith CC)
  2. Joshua Wilson (Cradle Coast CC)
  3. Cameron Winfield (Penrith CC)
  4. Mitchell Stewart (Balmoral CC)

Tickets on sale for the final at The Cube on the QUT Gardens Point campus on March 22nd.

Book Now

Stay up to date

Sign up to our newsletter to enter to win a 3-day hotel stay - t&c's apply.

Strategic Partners

Delivery Partner

Program Partners

Expressions of Interest:

Download Map